Skip to content

Can I connect my console to my apple cinema display?

May 9, 2008

No.

XBOX 360 and PS3 both supply a HDMI signal.

Apple’s cinema displays only accept a digital DVI signal.

There is no way to convert the HDMI signal from xbox into a DVI signal.

One company (forget which one) sold a special HDMI-to-DVI converter box for a bit, but they’re no longer selling it and aren’t intending to start selling something like it again.

If you’re buying a LCD computer display, buy one that has a HDMI input, or at least composite or VGA.

(figured I’d put this out here since it’s the 2nd time someone asked me, and I remember being really frustrated when I couldn’t get it to work)

3 Comments
  1. June 23, 2008 9:44

    i found similar product!. http://hdcorea.com/good/sa1521.html
    How think about it? it is cheaper than US product. but it does not support audio. if you want,
    http://www.converters.tv/products/digital_video_system_converters_431.html
    but i’m not sure it is best choice or not.

  2. vcx permalink
    November 20, 2008 4:19

    Hmmm… are you sure??
    I have “heard” that digital-DVI is basically HDMI without the digital-audio signal… so an adapter just need to cris-cross the wires, see link below:
    http://shop1.frys.com/search?cat=-60786&pType=pDisplay

  3. Leo Simons permalink*
    December 4, 2008 14:26

    No I am not completely sure. I do know that the dvi-to-hdmi connector that I bought didn’t work. But, I couldn’t find a detailed HDMI spec, so this is based on the material I did find, and other reports found across the web.

Comments are closed.

